Academic Senate Buidling
Academic Senate
Contact Us

USC Academic Senate
United University Church
UUC 414
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California 90089-2991

phone: (213) 740-7169
fax: (213)740-6010
e-mail: croque@usc.edu
Home >> About Us >> Faculty Committees
Faculty Committees

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities

WHEREAS the faculty have an interest in promoting collegiality within departments and across the university,

AND WHEREAS situations damaging to collegial relations that may sometimes arise are best addressed between faculty members,

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the following addition should be made to the charge of the Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee of the Academic Senate:

Each year the committee will establish from among its members a Panel on Collegial Problem-solving. This panel will be available for consultation, on a confidential basis if those concerned wish, and the informal resolution of disputes or other problems that may arise within departments, either between individuals and the department or among faculty colleagues, subject to a disclosure statement clearly indicating that the participants understand that legal advice is not being given. If attempts at informal resolution are unsuccessful, the panel may recommend formal mediation or, in extreme cases, with the assent of those involved, may refer the matter to the office of the Provost.

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities
Name School/Department Email Telephone
Steve Bucher (Co-Chair) Viterbi School of Engineering sbucher@usc.edu (213) 740 3094
Thomas Habinek Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences habinek@usc.edu (213) 821 5303
Ayse Imrohoroglu Marshall School of Business ayse@marshall.usc.edu (213) 740 6518
Jerry Mendel Viterbi School of Engineering mendel@sipi.usc.edu (213) 740 4445
Robert Rueda (Co-Chair) Rossier School of Education rueda@usc.edu (213) 740 2371
Gary Watson Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences glwatson@usc.edu (213) 740 9046
Michael Waterman Dornsife College, msw@usc.edu (213) 740 2408

 
Academic Senate
University of Southern California