Academic Senate Buidling
Academic Senate
Contact Us

USC Academic Senate
United University Church
UUC 414
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California 90089-2991

phone: (213) 740-7169
fax: (213)740-6010
Home >> About Us >> Faculty Committees
Faculty Committees

Probationary Deadlines 2014 - 2015

The Special Committee on Probationary Deadlines shall review proposed categories of special faculty from all units of the University, consider the appropriateness of fixed-term renewable contracts for individual faculty members in doubtful or disputed cases, and hear all requests involving modification of the normal probationary period for faculty members. The determinations of the committee are conveyed to the President of the University for action. The President's decision shall be made as promptly as possible. If he intends not to follow the recommendations of the Special Committee, he shall consult with the Special Committee stating his reasons and shall provide an opportunity for response by the Special Committee to him, before taking action. If the President finally decides not to accept the recommendations of the Special Committee, he shall state in writing to the Special Committee his reasons for rendering a different decision. The committee consists of a chairman and six additional members named by the Academic Senate, plus two members named by the Council of Deans.

Probationary Deadlines
Name School/Department Email Telephone
John Silvester (Chair) Viterbi School of Engineering (213) 740 9730
Gail P Borden School of Architecture (213) 740 2723
Charles Gomer Keck School of Medicine (323) 361 2335
Kevin Murphy Marshall School of Business (213) 740 6553
Mahvash Navazesh (Dean's Representative) Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC (213) 740 1418
John O'Brien (Dean's Representative) Viterbi School of Engineering (213) 740 0145
Academic Senate
University of Southern California