Disability and workers' compensation
Disability insurance is designed to replace income when you are medically certified as unable to work due to an injury or medical condition.
New employees are automatically enrolled in the USC basic disability plan, which mirrors the California state disability planboth of which are short-term plans that provide coverage for up to 52 weeks (after a 7-day waiting period). (You can decline enrollment in the USC plan and enroll in the state disability plan instead, if you wish. Contact the Disability Office at firstname.lastname@example.org.) Either way, your coverage begins the first day of employment, as mandated by state law.
After 12 months of active full-time employment, you are also eligible for the USC supplemental disability plan. The supplemental plan replaces more of your income for up to 52 weeks. In addition, for all employees enrolled in supplemental disability, USC pays for long-term disability, which extends coverage beyond the initial 52 weeks.
Note that although it won't take effect until after your first 12 months, you must enroll in supplemental disability before your 1-year anniversary or you will have to wait until open enrollment to apply. If you enroll after that anniversary, there are coverage limitations for pre-existing conditions (including pregnancy).
You pay a premium for both the basic and supplemental plans, which is taken through payroll reduction. The state determines the annual rate. USC determines the annual basic and supplemental rate. All rates are subject to change at any time.
You can change your disability plan during open enrollment.
|Disability plan||Cost per pay period (pretax)||Pays||Duration|
|USC Basic||1% of gross pay to a yearly maximum of $1,016.36||70% of gross pay to a weekly maximum of $1369||Maximum of 52 weeks|
|USC Supplemental||0.3% of gross pay||100% of weekly gross pay||One week for each year of employment up to a maximum of 10 weeks|
|80% of weekly gross pay||Remainder of 52 weeks|
|USC Long Term||No additional cost for employees enrolled in supplemental plan||70% of monthly gross pay||Until age 65|
|Age at onset of disability||Maximum duration of benefits|
|61 or younger||Attainment of age 65|
|62 but not yet 63||3 years and 6 months|
|63 but not yet 65||3 years|
|64 but not yet 65||2 years and 6 months|
|65 but not yet 66||2 years|
|66 but not yet 67||1 year and 9 months|
|67 but not yet 68||1 year and 6 months|
|68 but not yet 69||1 year and 3 months|
|69 or older||1 year|
- USC Disab = basic plan
- USC Suppl = supplemental plan
- CSDI = California state plan
Not sure which disability plan you're enrolled in? Your pay slip indicates:
How to apply for disability
- A physician must certify that you have a physical or mental condition that prevents you from performing your regular work duties
- You must suffer a wage loss due to your medical condition
- Objective medical evidence must support your disability
- Home department name
- Social Security number
- Employee number
- Home address and telephone number
- Date of hire
- Employment status (full-time/part-time)
- Job title
- Last day worked
- Return to work date
- Description of disability
- Whether disability is work-related
- Whether you filed a claim previously for the same disability
- Whether you are or have been admitted to a hospital, for how long, and the name and address of the hospital
- Doctor's name, address, phone, and fax number
- Within 24 hours a claims examiner will call you to gather more information
- After speaking with your claims examiner, within 35 business days you will receive a claims packet (if not received in that time frame, call claims examiner to request another packet be sent)
- Complete this packet and send it back to Sedgwick, except for the physician's certification form, which is for your primary treating doctor to complete and forward to Sedgwick
- Contact your Sedgwick claims examiner to ensure your claims packet was received and all forms were completed properly
- Contact your HR payroll/analyst to ensure your department disability notice has been submitted
To receive disability benefits:
If you have a disabling injury or illness, first notify your supervisor and HR payroll/analyst. Then call Sedgwick, USC's third-party administrator, at (800) 495-2315, with the following information ready:
After you initiate your claim with Sedgwick:
When all packet paperwork is received and your claim has been accepted, Sedgwick will provide a payment voucher to USC Disability, which will process your payment.
Your disability check will be paid according to the pay cycle you were on prior to your leave. If your check is late, you may wish to:
If your voucher is received late from Sedgwick, USC Disability will process your check within 35 business days from when the voucher was received. Late checks are hand drawn and mailed to your home address. However, for those who have direct deposit with the USC Credit Union, late checks will be direct deposited into their designated account.
Long-term disability payments are processed on a monthly cycle.
For payroll dates, see the Payroll Schedules.
Questions about your check? Call the Human Resources Service Center at (213) 821-8100.
Benefits during disability
The Employee Gateway's "Going on leave?"section has detailed information on benefit eligibility and time off accruals during leave.
Returning to work
If you are back to work but working a reduced scheduled (i.e., 4 hours per day), at the end of each pay period you must fax your timesheet with hours worked to Sedgwick at (888) 488-9544. It will be used to calculate your wage loss. Include your claim number on all faxes sent to Sedgwick. If you need your claim number, call Sedgwick at (800) 495-2315. Failing to do this in a timely manner will result in a late disability payment.
If you have been put on modified duty, notify your supervisor, your claims examiner, and the University Leave Coordinator at (213) 821-8120. If it is determined that your department can accommodate and you did not notify properly, your disability benefit may not be extended.
Be aware that employees on disability can continue their medical benefits for 4 months (14 years of service), 8 months (59 years of service) or 12 months (over 9 years of service). If you return to work before your medical benefits end, your medical plan will continue as normalbut if you do not return to work and your medical benefits expire, you will need to elect COBRA in order to continue your medical benefits.
Specific leave information
- Maternity leave
- Paid Family Leave (PFL)
PFL can be used for employees to care for the serious health condition of a family member or to bond with a child for a total of 6 weeks. You have one year from the date of a baby's birth or adoption to use the benefit for bonding.
There is a 7-day waiting period before benefits begin, but mothers who are taking baby bonding time following their maternity leave have already fulfilled a 7-day waiting period, and thus do not have to fulfill another.
Payments are determined by the state of California.
If you are enrolled in USC basic disability, initiate a claim by calling Sedgwick, USC's third-party administrator, at (800) 495-2315. If you've opted for the California state disability plan, you must apply for benefits through your local Employment Development Department.
- Non-paid medical leaves
Discuss your eligibility for non-paid medical leaves such as FMLA (Family Medical Leave) and CFRA (California Family Rights Act) with your supervisor or HR/payroll analyst.
Workers' compensation is a state-mandated program to provide wage reimbursement for employees who become injured or ill while in the course and scope of their employment. Workers' compensation benefit payments may begin the fourth day of disability. All employees are automatically eligible the first day of employment.
You must be medically certified by a physician within the USC Medical Provider Network (MPN) to receive benefits, and all medical bills will be paid by the university. If you decide to treat with a provider outside of the MPN, USC is not required to pay for the treatment.
If you have a workplace injury, report it your supervisor immediately. Your HR/payroll analyst or supervisor will submit an online Supervisor's Report of Incident to the workers' compensation department. Questions? Contact Workers' Compensation.