University of Southern California
USC Scripter® Award

Scripter > Past Scripter Awards > 2003 > Cast

The Hours

Author: Michael Cunningham
Screenwriter: David Hare
Director: Stephen Daldry


Nicole Kidman Virginia Woolf
Julianne Moore Laura Brown
Meryl Streep Clarissa Vaughn
Ed Harris Richard
Stephen Dillane Leonard Woolf
Miranda Richardson Vanessa Bell
John C. Reilly Dan Brown
Toni Collette Kitty
Allison Janney Sally Lester
Claire Danes Julia Vaughn
Jeff Daniels Louis Waters

Winner of the National Board of Review's award for best picture, The Hours won the Golden Globe's prize for top drama and best actress for Nicole Kidman after earning five nominations. The Seattle Film Critics awarded David Hare kudos for best adapted screenplay, while Julianne Moore won best actress honors from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association for her work in both The Hours and Far From Heaven. Toni Collette received the Boston Film Critics Society award for supporting actress for her work in The Hours and About a Boy, while the Las Vegas Film Critics Society gave Nicole Kidman the nod for best actress and John C. Reilly the award for best supporting actor (including his work in Chicago and Gangs of New York).