University of Southern California
USC Scripter® Award

Scripter > Press > Releases > January 9, 2004

Press Releases

For Immediate Release

January 9, 2004

Toni Miller (213) 740-2328;
Susan L. Wampler (213) 821-1639;

16th USC Scripter® Award Finalists Announced
LOS ANGELES--The writers of Cold Mountain, Lord of the Rings: Return of the King, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, Mystic River and Seabiscuit have been nominated for the University of Southern California's 16th Scripter® Award, the only honor that recognizes both the author and screenwriter for a film adaptation.

Finalists for this year's award are (in alphabetical order by film title): Cold Mountain--Charles Frazier, author; Anthony Minghella, screenwriter Lord of the Rings: Return of the King--J.R.R. Tolkien, author; Frances Walsh & Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson, screenwriters Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World--Patrick O'Brian, author; Peter Weir & John Collee, screenwriters Mystic River--Dennis Lehane, author; Brian Helgeland, screenwriter Seabiscuit--Laura Hillenbrand, author, Seabiscuit: An American Legend; Gary Ross, screenwriter

Academy Award® winner Robert Towne (Chinatown), chair of this year's Scripter selection committee, announced the finalists today on behalf of the Friends of the USC Libraries, which sponsors the award. The selection committee is comprised of Writers Guild of America members, Academy Award®-winning and -nominated screenwriters, authors, film industry executives, faculty, and selected members of the Friends of the USC Libraries. The committee narrowed down the year's 31 eligible films to five finalists and next week will choose the year's best film adaptation.

Winners of this year's award will be announced on January 16 at 9 a.m. The annual black-tie gala dinner honoring the winning collaboration will be held on Sunday, February 15, in the historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library on the USC campus.

The Scripter Award is given annually to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films based on books or novellas that were released the previous year. Past Scripter winners include the authors and screenwriters of The Hours, A Beautiful Mind, Wonder Boys, A Civil Action, L.A. Confidential, The English Patient, Sense and Sensibility, The Shawshank Redemption and Schindler's List.

For additional information, please call (213) 740-2328, email or visit