University of Southern California
USC Scripter® Award

Scripter > Press > Releases > January 07, 2005

Press Releases

For Immediate Release

January 7, 2005

Toni Miller (213) 740-2328; cell: (626)319-7231

17th USC Scripter® Award Finalists Announced
LOS ANGELES -- The writers of Million Dollar Baby, Sideways, The Door in the Floor, The Bourne Supremacy, and Friday Night Lights have been nominated for the University of Southern California's 17th Scripter® Award, the only honor that recognizes both author and screenwriter for a film adaptation.

Finalists for this year's award are (in alphabetical order by film title):
Bourne Supremacy, The — Robert Ludlum, author; Tony Gilroy, screenwriter
Door in the Floor, The — John Irving (A Widow for One Year), author; Tod Williams, screenwriter
Friday Night Lights — H. G. Bissinger (Friday Night Lights: A Town, A Team, and A Dream); Peter Berg, Buzz Bissinger, David Aaron Cohen, screenwriters
Million Dollar Baby — F. X. Toole (Ropeburns: Stories from the Corner), author; Paul Haggis, screenwriter
Sideways — Rex Pickett, author; Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor, screenwriters

Academy Award® nominee Nicholas Kazan (Reversal of Fortune) and screenwriter Robin Swicord, co-chairs of this year's Scripter selection committee, announced the finalists today on behalf of the Friends of the USC Libraries, which sponsors the award. The selection committee is comprised of Writers Guild of America members, Academy Award®-winning and -nominated screenwriters, authors, film industry executives, faculty, and selected members of the Friends of the USC Libraries. The committee narrowed down the year's 30 eligible films to five finalists and next week will choose the year's best film adaptation.

Winners of this year's award will be announced on January 14th at 9 a.m.

The annual black-tie gala dinner honoring the winning collaboration will be held on Sunday, February 20th, in the historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library on the USC campus. Henry Winkler will serve as emcee with Hal Kanter returning as grand emcee.

The Scripter Award is given annually to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films based on a book or short story that were released the previous year. Past Scripter winners include the authors and screenwriters of Mystic River, Seabiscuit, The Hours, A Beautiful Mind, Wonder Boys, A Civil Action, L.A. Confidential, The English Patient, Sense and Sensibility, The Shawshank Redemption and Schindler's List.

For more information, visit or call 213.740.2328.