Advisory Council

USC Sea Grant has an active and interested Advisory Council. We work to keep our Council informed about our research and outreach progress and consult with members on an annual basis. A strategic planning meeting with the Sea Grant Advisory Council was held on June 2, 2009. Our last annual meeting was held in October 2010.

lgcompass Advisory Council Members

Mr. Gary Bane
Nauticos, Ocellus Productions Division

Brian Baird, Advisor, Aquarium of the Bay/Bay Institute, Former California Assistant Secretary for Ocean Policy

Beth Jines
Director of Strategic Initiatives
Executive Office
City of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power

Ms. Lesley Ewing
California Coastal Commission

Dr. John Dorsey
Dept. of Natural Science
Loyola Marymount

Mark Helvey

Dani Lipski
Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary

Mr. Dennis Eschen
Manager ~ Retired
Department of Parks, Rec & Marine
City of Long Beach

Dominic Gregorio
Senior Environmental Scientist
Ocean Unit, Division of Water Quality
State Water Resources Control Board

CAPT Richard B. McKenna
Deputy Executive Director
Marine Exchange of So. California

Dr. Guang-yu Wang
Santa Monica Bay Restoration Project

Ms. Melinda Bartlett
EnvironmentLA - City of Los Angeles

Mr. Victor Omelczenko

Dr. Stephen Weisberg
Southern California Coastal
Water Research Project

Bob Kanter
Port of Long Beach

Mr. Michael Lyons
Regional Water Quality Control Board

Jonathan T. Phinney Ph.D.
Ecosystem Research
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
NOAA-National Marine Fisheries Svc

Mr. Craig A. Moyer
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Dr. Charles D. Kopczak
California Science Center

Mark Gold, D.Env.
Associate Director
UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability

Dr. Jerry Schubel
Aquarium of the Pacific

Dr. Ralph Appy
Port of Los Angeles