Prize Winners 2009

Each year, an exemplary group of ten Global Scholar designees is selected to receive $10,000 prizes toward graduate study.  To be considered for the Prize Competition applicants must submit all project materials by the primary submission deadline (the Monday following Spring Break in the student’s final year at USC).  Students who apply by the secondary application deadline (the last day of classes in the Spring semester before the student’s official Commencement) are not eligible for the Prize Competition but will still be considered by their School for the Global Scholars honor.  Click below to see the list of Prize Winners from current and previous years:

At the 2009 commencement, the university recognized 29 seniors as USC Global Scholars. Each student spent at least ten weeks outside the U.S. as part of their undergraduate experience in their field of study and completed a capstone project and reflective essay related to the international experiences with a grade point average of 3.5 or better. Of the 11 graduating scholars who were selected as prize finalists by their school, six have been nominated to receive a $10,000 prize. The six prize recipients form an exemplary group. Their names and programs are provided below.

2009 Global Scholar Prize Winners:

Name Program(s)
Grace Chiang Chemical Engineering
Nicole Hummel International Relations and Cinema-Television (minor)
Sarah Malachowsky International Relations and Human Rights (minor)
Olen Milholland Architecture
Abigail Nocon Communication and Law & Society (minor)
Catherine Tang Architecture

Winners by Year

Featured Video

Quick Contact

Do you have any questions, comments, or suggestions regarding the Global Scholars program or the website?

Fill out my online form.
Office Address:

Office of Undergraduate Programs University of Southern California

Undergraduate Programs
University of Southern California
Gwynn Wilson Student Union, Suite 300
3601 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0896