Go home SOIN logo
Sexual Orientation Issues in the News
who we areenhancing curriculumresearchget involvedlive issuesworkshops


The Press Release

  The Participants

To learn more contact SOIN at raarons@aol.com

Take Our Virtual Survey

SOIN's August 2001 Workshop:
The Participants

From Academia

  • Loren Ghiglione, dean, Medill School of Journalism
  • Bill Slater, dean, School of Journalism, University of Nevada, Reno; incoming president of ASJMC
  • Marguerite Moritz, associate dean, Univ. of Colorado School of Journalism
  • Larry Gross, professor of communication, University of Pennsylvania Annenberg School for Communication.
  • Lana Rakow, professor, University of North Dakota, chair AEJMC Teaching Standards Committee
  • Theodore Glasser, professor of Mass Communications, Stanford University (President-designate AEJMC 2002-3)
  • Edward Alwood, assistant professor, broadcast news, Temple University Department of Journalism, Public Relations and Advertising (winner, 2001 Nasziger-White Dissertation Award)
  • Dane Claussen, associate professor and director of Graduate Program, Dept. of Journalism and Mass Communication, Point Park College, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Laura Castañeda, assistant professor, USC Annenberg School of Journalism
  • Ellen Shearer, co-director, Medill News Service, Washington, DC
    Frank Starr, co-director, Medill News Service, Washington, DC
  • Teresa Keller, chair, Department of Mass Communications, Emory and Henry College, Emory, VA
  • Robyn S. Goodman, associate professor, Communications Study Program, Alfred University (Women’s Status Officer, AEJMC International Division)
From the News Industry
  • Rose Arce, producer, CNN
  • Barbara Raab, writer/producer, NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw
  • Sydney Trent, deputy Maryland editor, The Washington Post
  • Bob Murphy, senior vice president, multimedia, ABC News
  • Rich Martin, managing editor, The Roanoke, Va., Times
  • Mary Bishop, senior reporter, Roanoke Times
  • Sharon Rosenhause, managing editor, Southern Florida Sun Sentinel
  • Jeff Rogers, senior producer, All Things Considered, NPR
  • Cheryl Phillips, director of computer assisted reporting, Sports Department, USA Today
  • Isaiah Poole, editorial page editor, Centre Daily Times, State College, PA (and candidate for undergrad journalism degree at Penn State)
  • Alex Cerniglia, Class of ’01 Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, intern at ABC National News, D.C. Bureau.
  • Benoit Denizet-Lewis, senior writer, Boston Magazine
          [back to the top]    
home · who we are · enhancing curriculum · research · get involved · live issues · workshops