USC School of Policy, Planning, and Development

The Charles E. Fritz Award for Career Achievements in the Social Science Disaster Area

The International Research Committee on Disasters

proudly announces

the 2006 winner of the Charles E. Fritz Award

Russell R. Dynes

Professor Emeritus
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware

The Charles E. Fritz Award, named after one of the earliest pioneers in social science disaster studies, is given for significant and numerous contributions to the disaster area such as the conducting of research, publications, policy development, as well as providing input into the professional development of the field in recognition of major and notable career achievements over a lifetime.

Russell Dynes and Robert Stallings, 2007
Russell Dynes (left) receives the
Charles E. Fritz Award from
Robert Stallings, IRCD Past President
New York, N.Y.
August 13, 2007
(Photo by Tricia Wachtendorf)

Previous Fritz Award Winners

T. Joseph Scanlon (2002)

Burke Stannard (1998)

E. L. Quarantelli (1996)

Charles E. Fritz (1995)


About | Index | Recent Issues | Submitting Articles | Editorial Board | Upcoming Articles | Subscribing | Purchases | IJMED Home

School of Policy, Planning, and Development
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California 90089-0626
Web site comments?